Challenge Cup History

The Challenge Cup is a knockout cup competition for rugby league clubs organised by the Rugby Football League.[1] Originally it was contested only by British teams but in recent years has been expanded to allow teams from France and Russia to take part.

It has been held annually since 1896, with the exception of much of the 1914-18 Great War (1915–16 to 1918-19) and the start of the Second World War in 1939–1940 season, and involves amateur, semi-professional and professional clubs. For the 2013 competition, 96 teams entered the tournament.

The final of the Challenge Cup is one of the most prestigious matches in world rugby league, and is traditionally held at Wembley Stadium, London.[2] Despite London not being an area traditionally associated with rugby league, the final receives a lot of mainstream media coverage and is broadcast to many different countries around the world. Traditionally, “Abide with Me” is sung before the game, and has become something of a rugby league anthem.

The current holders of the Challenge Cup are Leeds who defeated Hull KR 50-0 on 29 August 2015 at Wembley Stadium. This is their 13th run as champions.

Wigan are the most successful club in the history of the competition, winning the Cup a record 19 times.

Aberdeen Warriors in the Challenge Cup

For the 2nd year running Aberdeen Warriors have a home draw for the 1st round of the challenge cup. The team have drawn one of the best amateur teams in the UK, the national conference premier side Pilkington Recs. Pilkington Recs made it all the way to the 4th round in 2016 beating London Skolars on the way, before losing to professional championship side Halifax RLFC.  

Warriors 2017 Challenge Cup Run

Aberdeen Warriors – Pilkington Recs

Woodside sports complex, Aberdeen – 1:30pm Jan 28th 2017

Event Link

Warriors 2016 Challenge Cup Run

Aberdeen Warriors 12 – 42 Northumbria University

Warriors 2015 Challenge Cup Run

Skirlaugh Bulls 27 – 20 Aberdeen Warriors

Warriors 2014 Challenge Cup Run

Pilkington Recs 44 – 4 Aberdeen Warriors